Events

Newsletter

Stay informed about our future activities and events. Register for our newsletter and join the 3724 already:

Follow us

Home > Events > Leonce Demarez Space

Leonce Demarez Space

Interpretation centre of ancient cults and beliefs

This new unusual thematic museum is dedicated to the many archaeological discoveries relating to places of worship and ritual objects of antiquity. Since first built shrines to the Celtic era (fifth century BC) to the Gallo-Roman temples (fourth century AC), this guided tour will take you to discover the polytheistic cults practiced in northern Gaul until the institutionalization of Christianity.

The highlight of the exhibition is made up of the impressive archaeological collection from the regional excavations carried out at the vast cultural complex Celto-Roman of Blicquy "Ville d’Anderlecht" (Leuze-en-Hainaut, Belgium).

These researches undertaken at the initiative of Léonce Demarez in 1978, by the Circle of Tourism and Archaeological Research of Blicquy, then relayed by the Archaeological Service of the Walloon Region and the Free University of Brussels (CREA-ULB) is Today a body of unique and original knowledge in Belgium.

The homogeneity and the richness of the collection unearthed at Blicquy (deposits of weapons, hoards, statues, jewelleries, mask ...) reflect the importance and splendour of this important archaeological site of Belgian heritage.


The creation of the Leonce Demarez Space was financially supported by the Commissioner General of Tourism, the National Lottery and the City of Beloeil.
The restoration of archaeological objects was supported by the Department of Archaeology, DGO4-Wallonia as well as the Federation of Archaeologists Wallonia and Brussels asbl.

Return

Survey



See all survey

Evènements

Newsletter

Restez informé de nos prochaines activités et évènements. Inscrivez vous à notre newsletter et rejoignez les 3712 déjà inscrits :

Suivez-nous

Accueil > Evènements > Espace Leonce Demarez

Espace Leonce Demarez

Centre d’Interprétation des Cultes et Croyances Antiques (C.I.C.C.A.)

Ce tout nouvel espace muséal à la thématique inédite est entièrement dédié aux nombreuses découvertes archéologiques ayant trait aux lieux de cultes et objets rituels antiques. Depuis les premiers sanctuaires bâtis à l’époque celtique (Ve siècle av. notre ère) jusqu’aux temples gallo-romains (IVe siècle de notre ère), cette visite vous emmènera à la découverte des cultes polythéistes pratiqués dans le nord de la Gaule jusqu’à l’institutionnalisation du christianisme.

Le point phare de cette exposition est constitué de l'impressionnante collection archéologique provenant des fouilles régionales menées sur le vaste complexe culturel celto-romain de Blicquy « Ville d’Anderlecht » (Leuze-en-Hainaut, Belgique).

Ces recherches entreprises à l’initiative de Léonce Demarez dès 1978, par le Cercle de Tourisme et de Recherches archéologiques de Blicquy, relayées ensuite par le Service Archéologique de la Région Wallonne et par l’Université Libre de Bruxelles (CRéA), constituent aujourd’hui un ensemble de connaissances uniques et inédites en Belgique.

L’homogénéité et la richesse de la collection mise au jour à Blicquy (dépôts d’armement, trésors monétaires, statuaires, bijoux, masque…) témoignent de l’importance et de la splendeur passée de ce site archéologique majeur du patrimoine belge.


La création de l’Espace Léonce Demarez a été soutenue financièrement par le Commissariat général au Tourisme, la Loterie Nationale et la Commune de Beloeil.
La restauration des objets archéologiques a été prise en charge par la Direction de l’Archéologie-DGO4-Wallonie ainsi que par la Fédération des Archéologues de Wallonie et de Bruxelles asbl.

Retour

Sondages



Consulter tous les sondages